Pretty Guardian Sailor Lilith #3 – « Amazing »

Publié le par Perlune

‘Here, Kasumi-chan!’

 

Usagi had bursted in the room and was now holding a small box in front of her. She raised her eyes.

 

‘What's that?’
‘A lunchbox!’
‘For me?’
‘Yes, of course! Take it!’
‘Thank you...’
‘Oh, it's nothing, you know! To tell the truth, I'm not the one who made it... It's from my friend Mako-chan...’

 

Kasumi took the box and opened it. A delicious scent spread across the room. The young girl suddenly remembered what the feeling of hunger was all about.

 

‘She cooked for me?’ she said, staring at the lunchobx in disbelief.
‘Yes, she did! I told my friends about you the other day, and they all thought they should do something. Ami-chan proposed to bring you to college, Minako-chan wants to write a song for you...’

 

Kasumi carefully plunged her chopsticks in the mild food and brought them to her mouth. Her heart jumped. It was incredibly delicious. She felt like she had been starving all the time until that very moment.

 

‘So? Usagi asked cheerfully. How does it taste?’
‘I kinda like it’, Kasumi coyly answered.
‘I'm glad! I was worried about the food they serve here... A good diet is the basis for a good health, isn't it?’

 

Kasumi didn't answer. She felt confused. On the one hand, she felt grateful to those strangers who would spontaneously offer their help - but on the other hand, wouldn't they let her down in the end? Saying they would help was one thing - doing so was another.


While she was eating, Usagi was still chatting.

 

‘I hope you'll be out soon!’
‘I don't.’
‘Really? Why?’
‘Well, because I have nowhere to go, I guess.’

 

Usagi felt embarassed.

 

‘Oh, that's a shame... I know! You should stay at my place!’
‘No way. I couldn't do that.’
‘Why not?’
‘I don't want to depend on someone else. I can take care of myself.’
‘Oh, come on! Relying on your friends isn't wrong, you know!’
‘You're my friend?’
‘Aren't I?’

 

There was a moment of silence.

 

‘Yes, I suppose...’
‘Great! I'll call my parents right away!’

Kasumi stared in disbelief as the nurse took a cell phone out and dialled a number.


‘Mama! Yes, it's me... Yes, I'm doing fine... No, I haven't forgotten about this evening... Yes, I have been studying... a little... Remember about Kasumi-chan?... Yes, the girl from the hospital! Couldn't she stay at home?... She can take Chibi-Usa's room... She just needs some time to go back to her normal life... Pretty please... Oh, mom, you're the best! See you!’

Usagi hung up and offered Kasumi a cheerful smile.
 
‘Everything's arranged!’
 
The young patient stared blankly at the nurse for a while.
 
‘What's up, Kasumi-chan?’
‘You're... crazy.’
‘Hey, you're being rude now!’
 
Kasumi giggled. The situation was so absurd, that she couldn't help it. Usagi giggled too. Then both girls burst into laughter. They were making so much noise that a staff person knocked and ordered them to keep quiet. This only made them laugh even more. While she was laughing, a part of Kasumi was watching herself in amazement. For whatever reason, she clearly realized that what was taking place at this very moment was the most incredible thing she had known since her rebirth.

Publié dans Ecritures

Commenter cet article